Air Force Baseball: Falcons Headed To Austin For Texas Regional

Air Force Baseball: Falcons Headed To Austin For Texas Regional

Air Force

Air Force Baseball: Falcons Headed To Austin For Texas Regional

By


Air Force Baseball: Falcons Headed To Austin For Texas Regional


The Falcons clinched their first Mountain West baseball title ever and now head deep into the heart of Texas for its NCAA regional.


Contact/Follow @MWCwire

A tough draw.

The Air Force Falcons shocked the college baseball world by rolling through the Mountain West baseball tournament as its four-seed, scoring its first bid in a NCAA regional since 1969. Now, they know their destination.

Air Force, with a record of 30-27, is headed to Austin, where the Texas Longhorns will host the 37th regional in its program’s history. Interestingly, this is not the Falcons’ first trip to Texas this season, either, as they put up 24 runs in splitting two games with the Longhorns back in April.

Texas is the ninth overall seed in the 64-team tournament, earned by virtue of finishing the year as the Big 12 runners-up, compiling a 42-19 record and ranking #19 according to D1Baseball.com.

Joining Air Force in the Texas regional is Conference USA champion Louisiana Tech, who won its tournament with a pair of walk-off wins and will make its second straight postseason appearance after compiling a 42-19 record, and 34-22-1 Dallas Baptist of the Missouri Valley Conference, which will appear in its eighth straight regional.

The Texas regional will begin on Friday afternoon at 12:00 PM MT/11:00 AM PT, with the first game between Texas and Air Force to be broadcast on the Longhorn Network. Louisiana Tech and Dallas Baptist will play later that same day, at 5:00 PM MT/4:00 PM PT, on ESPN+.

Advertisement

Latest

More MWWire