MWwire's 2021 Preseason All-Conference Mountain West Football Team

MWwire's 2021 Preseason All-Conference Mountain West Football Team

Air Force

MWwire's 2021 Preseason All-Conference Mountain West Football Team


Mountain West Wire Presents Its 2021 Preseason All-Conference Football Teams

Our staff reveals its all-conference selections for the best of Mountain West football heading into the 2021 season.

Contact/Follow @MWCwire

Who do we expect to be the conference’s best performers this fall?

Mountain West Wire’s 2021 preseason honors:

All-Conference Teams | Offensive Player of the Year | Defensive Player of the Year | Special Teams Player of the Year | Freshmen of the Year | Newcomer of the Year | Coach of the Year | Coordinator of the Year

College football season is once again at our doorstep, so our staff here at Mountain West Wire has once again put its collective heads together to create our fifth annual preseason all-Mountain West football team. If you’re interested in seeing the first four iterations, click here for the 2017 preseason selections here for 2018, here for 2019, and here for 2020.

Much like a number of national publications, our preseason all-conference roster goes four deep. We have also continued our efforts to better reflect the variety we see week in and week out throughout the conference, too:

  • We vote for a Defensive Flex player to better reflect that some units — like Boise State, San Diego State, and Wyoming — often operate with five defensive backs or a nickelback/linebacker hybrid in their 3-3-5 or 4-2-5.
  • We split our linebacker selections into two, inside and outside, and differentiate between centers, guards and tackles on the offensive lines and between interior lineman and edge rushers on defense.
  • We vote for three wide receivers instead of two.

If you disagree with our choices, feel free to let us know what you’d have done differently on Twitter or Facebook.

This year’s voters: Jeremy Mauss, Sean O’Toole (Air Force), Collin Clovis and Raja Prabhala (Boise State), Josh Fredlund (Colorado State), Matthew Kenerly and TJ Nijjar (Fresno State), Brandon Blake (Nevada), Roger Holien (New Mexico), Sam McConkie (Utah State), and Jesse Tachiquin (Wyoming).

First Team


QB – Carson Strong, Nevada
RB – Xazavian Valladay, Wyoming
RB – Ronnie Rivers, Fresno State
WR – Romeo Doubs, Nevada
WR – Khalil Shakir, Boise State
WR – Dante Wright, Colorado State
TE – Trey McBride, Colorado State
C – Keegan Cryder, Wyoming
G – Jake Stetz, Boise State
G – William Dunkle, San Diego State
T – John Ojukwu, Boise State
T – Jack Snyder, San Jose State


DT – Dom Peterson, Nevada
DT – Manny Jones, Colorado State
DE – Cade Hall, San Jose State
DE – Solomon Byrd, Wyoming
OLB – Riley Whimpey, Boise State
OLB – Caden McDonald, San Diego State
ILB – Justin Rice, Utah State
ILB – Chad Muma, Wyoming
CB – Cortez Davis, Hawaii
CB – Markel Reed, Boise State
S – Shaq Bond, Utah State
S – Tre Jenkins, San Jose State
FLEX – Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State

Special Teams

K – Brandon Talton, Nevada
P – Ryan Stonehouse, Colorado State
KR – Savon Scarver, Utah State
PR – Romeo Doubs, Nevada

Second Team


QB – Nick Starkel, San Jose State
RB – George Holani, Boise State
RB – Charles Williams, UNLV
WR – Jalen Cropper, Fresno State
WR – Elijah Cooks, Nevada
WR – Kyle Williams, UNLV
TE – Cole Turner, Nevada
C – Kyle Stapley, New Mexico
G – Logan Harris, Wyoming
G – Julio Garcia, UNLV
T – Zachary Thomas, San Diego State
T – Ilm Manning, Hawaii


DT – Jonah Tavai, San Diego State
DT – Kevin Atkins, Fresno State
DE – Scott Patchan, Colorado State
DE – Cameron Thomas, San Diego State
OLB – AJ Vongphachanh, Utah State
OLB – Jacoby Windmon, UNLV
ILB – Dequan Jackson, Colorado State
ILB – Demonte Meeks, Air Force
CB – Berdale Robins, Nevada
CB – C.J. Coldon, Wyoming
S – Trenton Thompson, San Diego State
S – Esaias Gandy, Wyoming
FLEX – Tavian Combs, New Mexico

Special Teams

K – John Hoyland, Wyoming
P – Julian Diaz, Nevada
KR – Shamar Garrett, San Jose State
PR – Ronnie Rivers, Fresno State


More MWWire