Mountain West Wire's 2020 Postseason All-Conference Football Team

Mountain West Wire's 2020 Postseason All-Conference Football Team

Air Force

Mountain West Wire's 2020 Postseason All-Conference Football Team


[jwplayer n39bGKWj-Esf0Ippc]

Mountain West Wire Presents Its 2020 Postseason All-Mountain West Football Teams

Our staff has made its selections for the best of Mountain West football as we close out the 2020 season.

Contact/Follow @MWCwire

Only the best of the best make the cut.

Mountain West Wire’s 2020 postseason honors:

All-Conference Teams | Offensive Player of the Year | Defensive Player of the Year | Special Teams Player of the YearFreshman of the Year | Newcomer of the Year | Coach of the Year | Coordinator of the Year

At the end of the strange college football season of our lifetimes, our staff here at Mountain West Wire has once again put its collective heads together to create our third annual postseason all-Mountain West football team.

If you’re interested in seeing how these selections stack up against our preseason picks, click here. Alternatively, you can find our 2019 postseason honorees here and our 2018 postseason picks here.

As usual, our all-conference roster goes four deep and attempts to best reflect the variety of offenses and defense we see week in and week out throughout the conference:

  • We vote for a Defensive Flex player to better reflect that some units — like Boise State, San Diego State, and Wyoming — often operate with five defensive backs or a nickelback/linebacker hybrid in their 3-3-5 or 4-2-5.
  • We split our linebacker selections into two, inside and outside, as we’d previously differentiated between centers, guards and tackles on the offensive lines and between interior lineman and edge rushers on defense.
  • We vote for three wide receivers instead of two.

If you disagree with our choices, feel free to let us know what you’d have done differently on Twitter or Facebook.

This year’s voters: Jeremy Mauss, Sean O’Toole (Air Force), Collin Clovis (Boise State), Josh Fredlund (Colorado State), Matthew Kenerly and Matthew Wadleigh (Fresno State), Roger Holien (New Mexico), and Jesse Tachiquin (Wyoming).

First Team


QB – Carson Strong, Nevada
RB – Ronnie Rivers, Fresno State
RB – Xazavian Valladay, Wyoming
WR – Romeo Doubs, Nevada
WR – Khalil Shakir, Boise State
WR – Bailey Gaither, San Jose State
TE – Trey McBride, Colorado State
C – Keegan Cryder, Wyoming
G – Nolan Laufenberg, Air Force
G – Jake Stetz, Boise State
T – Parker Ferguson, Air Force
T – Jack Snyder, San Jose State


DT – Dom Peterson, Nevada
DT – Manny Jones, Colorado State
DE – Cade Hall, San Jose State
DE – Scott Patchan, Colorado State
DE – Viliami Fehoko, San Jose State
OLB – Darius Muasau, Hawaii
OLB – Riley Whimpey, Boise State
ILB – Chad Muma, Wyoming
ILB – Kyle Harmon, San Jose State
CB – Darren Hall, San Diego State
CB – Avery Williams, Boise State
S – Tariq Thompson, San Diego State
S – Jerrick Reed II, New Mexico
FLEX – Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State

Special Teams

K – Brandon Talton, Nevada
P – Ryan Stonehouse, Colorado State
KR – Avery Williams, Boise State
PR – Avery Williams, Boise State

Second Team


QB – Nick Starkel, San Jose State
RB – Greg Bell, San Diego State
RB – Brad Roberts, Air Force
WR – Tre Walker, San Jose State
WR – Jalen Cropper, Fresno State
WR – Kyle Williams, UNLV
TE – Cole Turner, Nevada
C – Kyle Stapley, New Mexico
G – Aaron Frost, Nevada
G – William Dunkle, San Diego State
T – Zachary Thomas, San Diego State
T – Kyle Spalding, San Diego State


DT – Kevin Atkins, Fresno State
DT – Toby McBride, Colorado State
DE – Cameron Thomas, San Diego State
DE – Shane Irwin, Boise State
OLB – Caden McDonald, San Diego State
OLB – Cam’ron Carter, Colorado State
ILB – Lawson Hall, Nevada
ILB – Brandon Shook, New Mexico
CB – Cortez Davis, Hawaii
CB – Jalen Walker, Boise State
S – Tre Jenkins, San Jose State
S – Shaq Bond, Utah State
FLEX – Tavian Combs, New Mexico

Special Teams

K – John Hoyland, Wyoming
P – Tanner Kuljian, San Diego State
KR – Jordan Byrd, San Diego State
PR – Jesse Matthews, San Diego State


More MWWire