Mountain West Football Media Announces 2019 Postseason All-Conference Team

Mountain West Football Media Announces 2019 Postseason All-Conference Team

Air Force

Mountain West Football Media Announces 2019 Postseason All-Conference Team


[jwplayer fb1swk9j-Esf0Ippc]

Mountain West Football Media Announces 2019 Postseason All-Conference Team

The Mountain West football media revealed its players of the year and honored all 12 teams on its postseason all-conference squad.

Contact/Follow @MattK_FS & @MWCwire

A lot of props to go around.

mwwire’s 2019 postseason honors:

All-Conference Teams | Offensive Player of the Year | Defensive Player of the Year | Special Teams Players of the Year | Freshmen of the Year | Coach of the Year | Coordinator of the Year

Ahead of Championship Saturday, the Mountain West Conference announced the media’s selections for its annual individual honors and the traditional two-deep of all-conference athletes.

As you might imagine, the Boise State Broncos led the way in sweeping nearly all of the individual honors, claiming three of five after entering the title game with an 11-1 record: George Holani was named the Mountain West’s top freshman, while Curtis Weaver earned Defensive Player of the Year and Avery Williams was named Special Teams Player of the Year.

The two non-Broncos to earn the conference’s major awards are San Jose State quarterback Josh Love, named Offensive Player of the Year, and Hawaii head coach Nick Rolovich, who was named as the conference’s best in 2019.

Interestingly, the first team made room for five linebackers, perhaps as a way to include Utah State linebacker David Woodward, who was very clearly on his way to a first-team spot before succumbing to injury. The ballot also expanded from including two wide receivers to three on each team and separated the two returner positions to honor both Williams and Utah State kick return specialist Savon Scarver.

Media Individual Honors

Offensive Player of the Year – Josh Love, QB, San Jose State
Defensive Player of the Year – Curtis Weaver, STUD, Boise State
Special Teams Player of the Year – Avery Williams, PR, Boise State
Freshman of the Year – George Holani, RB, Boise State
Coach of the Year – Nick Rolovich, Hawaii

First-Team All-Mountain West


QB – Josh Love, San Jose State
RB – Charles Williams, UNLV
RB – Xazavian Valladay, Wyoming
WR – Warren Jackson, Colorado State
WR – Cedric Byrd, Hawaii
WR – Tre Walker, San Jose State
TE – Trey McBride, Colorado State
OL – Scott Hattok, Air Force
OL – Nolan Laufenberg, Air Force
OL – Ezra Cleveland, Boise State
OL – John Molchon, Boise State
OL – Keith Ismael, San Diego State


DL – Mosese Fifita, Air Force
DL – Curtis Weaver, Boise State
DL – Dom Peterson, Nevada
DL – Myles Cheatum, San Diego State
DL – Cameron Thomas, San Diego State
LB – Justin Rice, Fresno State
LB – Mykal Walker, Fresno State
LB – Kyahva Tezino, San Diego State
LB – David Woodward, Utah State
LB – Logan Wilson, Wyoming
DB – Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State
DB – Jamal Hicks, Colorado State
DB – Luq Barcoo, San Diego State
DB – Alijah Halliburton, Wyoming

Special Teams

K – Dominik Eberle, Utah State
P – Ryan Stonehouse, Colorado
KR – Savon Scarver, Utah State
PR – Avery Williams, Boise State

Second-Team All-Mountain West


QB – Cole McDonald, Hawaii
RB – George Holani, Boise State
RB – Ronnie Rivers, Fresno State
WR – John Hightower, Boise State
WR – Jojo Ward, Hawaii
WR – Siaosi Mariner, Utah State
TE – Parker Houston, San Diego State
OL – Connor Vikupitz, Air Force
OL – Garrett Larson, Boise State
OL – Ilm Manning, Hawaii
OL – Daishawn Dixon, San Diego State
OL – Keegan Cryder, Wyoming


DL – Chase Hatada, Boise State
DL – David Moa, Boise State
DL – Keshawn Banks, San Diego State
DL – Tipa Galeai, Utah State
LB – Kyle Johnson, Air Force
LB – Demonte Meeks, Air Force
LB – Riley Whimpey, Boise State
LB – Ethan Aguayo, San Jose State
DB – Kekoa Nawahine, Boise State
DB – Jalen Walker, Boise State
DB – Tariq Thompson, San Diego State
DB – Jericho Flowers, UNLV

Special Teams

K – Brandon Talton, Nevada
P – Tyson Dyer, New Mexico
KR – John Hightower, Boise State
PR – Austin Conway, Wyoming

All-Mountain West Honorable Mentions

Air Force: Milton Bugg III, DB; Jeremy Fejedelem, DB; Jordan Jackson, DL; Timothy Jackson, FB; Jake Koehnke, PK; Zane Lewis, DB; Geraud Sanders, WR; Kadin Remsberg, RB

Boise State: John Bates, TE; Sonatane Lui, DL; Eric Quevedo, OL; Khalil Shakir, WR; Avery Williams, DB

Colorado State: Anthony Hawkins, KR; Manny Jones, DL

Fresno State: Kevin Atkins, DL; Blake Cusick, P; Juju Hughes, DB

Hawaii: Cortez Davis, DB; Rojesterman Farris II, DB; Solomon Matautia, LB; Kaimana Padello, DL; Gene Pryor, OL; Taaga Tuulima, OL; Blessman Ta‘ala, DL

Nevada: Daniel Brown, DB; Romeo Doubs, WR, PR; Gabriel Sewell, LB; Toa Taua, RB

New Mexico: Ahmari Davis, RB; Alex Hart, LB; Teton Saltes, OL; Kyle Stapley, OL

San Diego State: Matt Araiza, PK; William Dunkle, OL; Darren Hall, DB; Brandon Heicklen, P; Dwayne Johnson Jr., DB

San Jose State: Bailey Gaither, WR; Troy Kowalski, OL; Matt Mercurio, PK; Jack Snyder, OL

UNLV: Julio Garcia, OL; Rayshad Jackson, LB; Justin Polu, OL; Javin White, LB

Utah State: Shaq Bond, DB; Gerold Bright, RB; Jordan Love, QB; Caleb Repp, TE; Christopher Unga, DL

Wyoming: Tyler Hall, DB; Logan Harris, OL; Cassh Maluia, LB


More MWWire