MWwire's 2019 Preseason All-Conference Mountain West Football Team

MWwire's 2019 Preseason All-Conference Mountain West Football Team

Air Force

MWwire's 2019 Preseason All-Conference Mountain West Football Team


[jwplayer n39bGKWj-Esf0Ippc]

Mountain West Wire Presents Its 2019 Preseason All-Mountain West Football Teams

Our staff has made its selections for the best of Mountain West football heading into the 2019 season.

Contact/Follow @MattK_FS and @MWCwire

Who is among the conference’s best this fall?

Ahead of the Mountain West Conference’s media summit in Las Vegas this coming week, our staff has put their heads together for our third annual preseason all-MWC football team at this site. If you’re interested in seeing the first two iterations, click here for the 2017 preseason selections and here for those from last summer.

Unlike the media selections which will be unveiled during the conference summit, our all-conference roster goes three deep. We have also made efforts to better reflect the variety we see week in and week out throughout the Mountain West, too, so there are a couple changes between last year’s iteration and this one:

  • We added a FLEX position on defense to better reflect that some units — like San Diego State, Hawaii, and Wyoming — often operate with five defensive backs or a nickelback/linebacker hybrid in their 3-3-5 or 4-2-5.
  • We split our linebacker selections into two, inside and outside, as we’d previously differentiated on the defensive/offensive lines and in the secondary.

Otherwise, unlike the SEC, we’ve got guards and then some. And if you disagree with our choices, of course, feel free to let us know what you’d have done differently on Twitter or Facebook.

This year’s voters: Jeremy Mauss, Sean O’Toole (Air Force), Raja Prabahala and Collin Clovis and Erik Smiley (Boise State), Josh Fredlund (Colorado State), Matthew Kenerly (Fresno State), Brandon Blake (Nevada), Roger Holien (New Mexico), Logan Jones and Sam McConkie (Utah State), and Jesse Tachiquin (Wyoming)

First Team


QB – Jordan Love, Utah State
RB – Toa Taua, Nevada
RB – Juwan Washington, San Diego State
WR – Cedric Byrd, Hawaii
WR – Jojo Ward, Hawaii
WR – John Hightower, Boise State
TE – Jared Rice, Fresno State
C – Keith Ismael, San Diego State
G – John Molchon, Boise State
G – Justin Polu, UNLV
T – Ezra Cleveland, Boise State
T – Jake Nelson, Nevada


DT – David Moa, Boise State
DT – Christopher ‘Unga, Utah State
DE – Jordan Jackson, Air Force
DE – Kaimana Padello, Hawaii
OLB – Curtis Weaver (STUD), Boise State
OLB – Tipa Galeai, Utah State
ILB – David Woodward, Utah State
ILB – Logan Wilson, Wyoming
CB – Jaron Bryant, Fresno State
CB – Avery Williams, Boise State
S – Juju Hughes, Fresno State
S – Kekoa Nawahine, Boise State
FLEX – D.J. Williams (NB), Utah State

Special Teams

K – Cooper Rothe, Wyoming
P – Ryan Stonehouse, Colorado State
KR – Savon Scarver, Utah State
PR – Avery Williams, Boise State


More MWWire