Toughest Players For San Diego State To Replace In 2018

Toughest Players For San Diego State To Replace In 2018

Mountain West Football

Toughest Players For San Diego State To Replace In 2018

Toughest Players For San Diego State To Replace In 2018

Who will shine for the Aztecs next year

Contact/Follow @tedmcgovern & @MWCwire

Replacing Rashaad Penny will be a big challenge.

San Diego State has a very deep bench of talent, and in the development of their program, we’ve seen them cultivate great players through the ranks.  As such, there aren’t many glaring holes.  We have a returning champion QB, a Groza caliber kicker, and many of the other key production players.

That said, we are going to see some epic talent and incredible contributors exit the program, as was the case in last year’s class.  I’ll attempt to rank them by impact.

Rashaad Penny, RB– MW Offensive/ Special Teams Player of the year, NCAA 2017 Rushing/Total Yardage Leader, Doak Walker snub and etc.  Many people thought there would be a huge void once Donnel Pumphrey left.  It DID NOT HAPPEN.  Penny stepped up and arguably had a stronger senior season than the record-breaking Pumphrey!

Nonetheless, right behind Penny is a highly talented running back:  Juwan Washington (SO).  Washington managed to return at least two kickoffs for TD in 2017, and posted seven touchdowns for the season.  He has a career average 6.62 yards per carry.  Right behind Washington is Chase Jasmin (FR).

Kameron Kelly, CB: On his departure we will likely see Ron Smith (SO) step up and be the next great defensive back to roam the Aztec secondary backfield.

Quest Truxton and Mikah Holder – both WR- will be a loss.  The Aztecs will turn to Fred Trivillion (JR) who is a deeply- underutilized resource and is exceptional at catching deep bombs; and Tim Wilson Jr., (FR) who in his freshman year with limited play went six for six, averaging 15 yards per reception on short passes.

Quest Truxton sports one of the coolest names in college football, and that, too, will be missed.

David Wells, TE– Will be succeeded by Kahale Warring (SO) and Parker Houston (SO)

Antonio Rozales, OL – Has been a huge difference maker, and will be succeeded by a new, even bigger group of linemen.  Next year, the OL will be populated mostly by players 6’5″ or taller including four at 6’7″, averaging 300lbs, including Ryan Pope (JR) and Joe Salcedo (JR)- both 6’7″ and over 300 lbs.

Dakota Turner, DL – has been another big difference maker.  His leadership will probably be succeeded by Noble Hall (JR)

Trey Lomax, S – Will be succeeded by Parker Baldwin (JR) and Israel Cabrera (S)


More MWWire